L'histoire d'Alexandre Blanc

Born in 1982, Alexandre Blanc grew up in the Southwest near Toulouse. Very early on, he initially planned to become a painter before integrating training as a stylist at the Duperré school of applied arts and then at the French fashion institute.

In 2007, he joined the Yves Saint Laurent house where he will reproduce on evening dresses a woven drapery technique developed during his studies. After a short stint at Balenciaga, he joined Guillaume Henry in 2009 and participated in the rebirth of the Carven house, then decided to become a freelance from 2012 which enabled him to collaborate with several houses including Jil Sander and more recently Oscar de la Renta.

Back in Paris, in September 2018, he created the Alexandre Blanc brand, for which he designed his prints himself and designed each piece in volume on a wooden mannequin in close collaboration with his design office located in Milan.

"Working with the volume of garments, I want to suggest a certain silhouette but mostly define a particular woman. I'm not interested in trends but prefer the idea of painting the portrait of a woman, season after season adding layers.

She's aristocratic, but also natural and slightly bohemian: she expresses that through a distinct mix of colors, prints: she's inspired by Cocteau, Braque, Matisse and Bakst. She's intellectual, confident in her knowledge of French culture. She assumes her boyish side: the shirt is a blank canvas onto which she can layer knits, jewellery, thus creating singular and spontaneous encounters.

She's confident in her sensuality, she likes suggesting her body. A large decolleté reveals the shoulders like ballerinas, the waist is cinched, a slit skirt reveals a colored underskirt, some lace, lingerie is suggested. She's not afraid of showing her vulnerability and her freedom to wear clothes that express her true personality.

The garments are structured, never constraining, they're meant to be worn every day, and reveal the persona of the woman that wears them, without ever taking center stage and overshadowing her personality. "

x

L'histoire d'Alexandre Blanc

Alexandre Blanc a grandi dans le Sud-ouest près de Toulouse. Très tôt il envisage dans un premier temps de devenir artiste peintre avant d'intégrer une formation de styliste à l'école d'arts appliqués Duperré puis à l'institut français de la mode.

Il intègre en 2007 la maison Yves Saint Laurent où il reproduira sur des robes du soir une technique de drapés tressés développée lors de ses études. Après un court passage chez Balenciaga, il rejoint Guillaume Henry en 2009 et participe à la renaissance de la maison Carven puis décide de devenir free-lance à partir de 2012 ce qui lui permet de collaborer avec plusieurs maisons dont Jil Sander et plus récemment Oscar de la Renta.

De retour à Paris, il crée en septembre 2018 la marque Alexandre Blanc pour laquelle il dessine lui-même ses imprimés et pense chaque pièce en volume sur un mannequin de bois en étroite collaboration avec son bureau d'études situé à Milan.

 

  

"Je veux renouer avec la créativité en travaillant le vêtement en volume, définir l'idée d'un corps et surtout l'idée d'une certaine femme. Je m'intéresse peu aux tendances mais j'aime l'idée de faire le portrait de cette femme au fur et à mesure des collections.

Un peu aristo, un peu brouillon, par le mélange des couleurs et le choix de ses imprimés, elle nous montre son côté flamboyant, inspirée par Cocteau, Braque, Matisse et Bakst. Elle est aussi intellectuelle, très empreinte de culture française. Un rien garçon manqué, elle utilise la chemise comme toile blanche sur laquelle elle ajoute une maille, un bijou et se singularise par cette spontanéité du mélange et de l'inattendu.

Elle est aussi sensuelle, elle aime un décolleté très ouvert sur les épaules telle une danseuse, la taille est marquée, la jupe cercle est fendue et, dans un mouvement, dévoile un jupon coloré, un peu de dentelle, l'idée de la lingerie, la liberté de la montrer et de porter des vêtements qui mettent en valeur une personnalité.

Le vêtement donne une structure mais ne doit pas contraindre, il doit s'adapter au quotidien, révéler le caractère de celle qui le porte sans passer devant, à l'image de l'actrice que l'on trouve plus fascinante que le réalisateur qui la dirige."

 

x